School News

News for Marion High School

Posted: by Patricia Gibson, Communications Director
News Blog Category - News The annual Fly/In Cruise/In car and air show is coming up soon at the Marion Municipal Airport, and with it comes the Marching Giants' all-you-can-eat pancake breakfast. Come on out to the airport and support our musicians as they head back into competition season for the first time in several years!

Check out this WIWU "Crossroads" feature from last year's Fly/In Cruise/In for a taste of what's in store:

The pancake breakfast this year is set for 7 a.m. to noon on Saturday, Aug. 30. Tickets are $5 in advance, available from any MHS band member, or at the airport, 5904 S. Western Ave., or at the Bright House Networks Marion office, 2923 S. Western Ave. Tickets at the door are $8 for adults, $3 for kids 8 and younger.

There is no admission charge to the show itself, which runs until 2 p.m.

The show this year will feature classic cars and other vintage vehicles, along with dozens of aircraft. The special feature this year is the C-54 "Spirit of Freedom", a flying museum with displays about the Berlin Airlift, a major global response in the late 1940s to one of the first major international crises of the Cold War. The "Spirit of Freedom" is part of the Berlin Airlift Historical Foundation. Click here to learn more about the organization. 

Also featured will be helicopter rides for an additional cost. Click here to learn more.

Don't miss this unique local event that has supported our band program for many years! 

Posted: by Patricia Gibson, Communications Director
News Blog Category - Board Honors The Marion Community Schools Board of School Trustees honored four students for perfect scores on the ISTEP+ exam in the 2013-14 school year.

Those honored were:

At its meeting on Aug. 13, 2014, the MCS School Board honored Geordi-Lee McIntyre, Elizabeth Wuertley, Patrick Spitzer, and Jinwon Pae (not pictured) for their perfect ISTEP+ scores in the 2013-14 school year. Also pictured are MCS Superintendent Brad Lindsay and board members Gregg Kitts, Cathy Moritz, Pam Hutchison, Katie Morgan, Scott Murphy, and Harry Hall. 
Posted: by Patricia Gibson, Communications Director
News Blog Category - News The new school year is here! It's a great time to be a Marion Giant. At our First Day Celebration Friday morning at Marion High School's Walton Performing Arts Center, community members gathered to encourage and thank Marion Community Schools teachers and staff. It was a great kickoff to the new year. 

As we look forward to 2014-15, join us as we take a look back at some of the great things that happened last school year. Check out the photo slideshow below!

Posted: by Patricia Gibson, Communications Director
News Blog Category - News Fifteen Marion High School students will participate in this year's Young Entrepreneurship Program, the Grant County Economic Growth Council announced recently.

YEP, launched locally by the Growth Council in 2011at Marion High School to empower Grant County's future business leaders, offers local students an enriched entrepreneurial education and encourages them to think creatively and optimistically about starting a business here. At the conclusion of the program each year, teams present their business plans to a panel of judges in a competition, vying for scholarships up to $3,000 and other prizes. Judges determine the winning team based on overall business concept, viability, marketability, and presentation.

>> Check out this promo video featuring MHS alumni who previously participated:

"The Young Entrepreneurs Program primes the next generation of business professionals in Grant County and plants a seed in the mind of our brightest young people for starting a business locally," said Growth Council Executive Director Tim Eckerle.

This year, YEP received a record number of applicants.

The 15 MHS students chosen to participate in YEP this year were:
  • Patricia Arielle Manio
  • Elijah Beal
  • Emily Erickson
  • Kaylan Williams
  • Julia Cardwell
  • Mark Mooney
  • James Beyioku
  • Mea Lindsey
  • Mallorie Shearer
  • Aaron Hanson
  • Gzi Fears-Neal
  • Noah Miller
  • Emily Myers
  • Tyra Lindsay
  • Monica Guillen. 
Fifteen students from Mississinewa High School will also participate in YEP this year.

In the 10-week program, students meet twice a week for two hours after school. Session topics include business climate, competitive analysis, marketing, financial plan, and more.

The mission of the Grant County Economic Growth Council is "to facilitate investment and reinvestment through job creation and retention." One vehicle used to achieve economic development by the Growth Council are programs designed to foster an environment of entrepreneurship. Click here for more information about YEP. 

Good luck to these students as the craft GIANT dreams for the future!
Posted: by Patricia Gibson, Communications Director
News Blog Category - News Over the summer, incoming Marion High School senior Noah Graham got to experience the world of politics and government as a delegate to Hoosier Boys State.

More than 600 young men from around the state participated in the week-long experience hosted by Trine University. Delegates, organized into “cities” and “counties,” create simulated governments, from local up to state level, including executive, legislative, and judicial systems.

Incoming MHS senior Noah Graham strikes a mayoral pose after his election as mayor of his "city" at Hoosier Boys State this summer. (Photo provided)

The mission of Hoosier Boys State is to provide young men an opportunity to learn how politics impacts our daily lives. Noah got an inside look at the strategy, compromise, and negotiations that go into running a government.

“I was running for positions not even an hour into day one, and I helped get many people from my city and county into state positions,” he said.

Noah ran for both mayor of his city and judge for his county, and won both positions. The delegate who was elected governor ultimately appointed Noah a Supreme Court justice.

In addition to the mock government, delegates had the chance to take classes and got to watch an appeals court in action on campus.

Only a select few students from across the state get the chance to attend each year, and alumni of Hoosier Boys State include former Indiana Gov. Mitch Daniels, former U.S. Sen. Richard Lugar, former U.S. Rep. Lee Hamilton, and Indiana Supreme Court Chief Justice Randall Sheperd.

Boys State also takes place in 47 other states, and notable past delegates in other states include former U.S. President Bill Clinton, Neil Armstrong, the first man to walk on the moon, Roger Ebert, Pulitzer Prize winner, and Michael Jordan, retired NBA player.

It’s an experience that certainly lays a foundation for a lifetime of civic  engagement, and we congratulate Noah on his accomplishments!

Delegates learned about the art of deal-making at Hoosier Boys State. (Photo provided)