School News

News for Marion High School

SUMMER SUCCESS: Mu Alpha Theta adds up the awards at national convention

Posted: by Patricia Gibson, Communications Director
News Blog Category - News Several Marion High School students competed at the 44th annual Mu Alpha Theta Mathematics National Convention in Orlando, Fla., this month, bringing home 12 awards.

MHS was represented by 24 students at the convention, which ran from July 20 through 25. The team placed 20th out of 55 teams nationally. Marion was the only Indiana team competing. More than 800 students from across the country and Germany competed.

Bucholz High School, from Gainsville, Fla., won its eighth consecutive national championship. 

Here's a look at the national awards the Giants brought home:
  • The Theta State Bowl Team, composed of junior Zachary Spitzer and sophomores Micah Hoeksema, Nicholas Spitzer, and Megan Griffin, finished third, behind Florida and Alabama.
  • Senior Janet Huffman finished fifth in the Alpha Topic Test - Mathematics in Rides.
  • For the second year in a row, Marion placed in the poster competition. This year, the poster, with the theme "It's a Math World After All", was designed by seniors Patricia Manio, Lan Nguyen, Samantha Diedrich, and Alyssa Ngo. The poster scored 10th place.
  • Seniors Alex Ott and Tejas Srikanth placed 18th in the Alpha Gemini competition
  • In the Theta Gemini test, sophomore Danielle Manio finished 19th.

Other Mu Alpha Theta members competing were graduated seniors Vinai Oddiraju, Andrew Spitzer, Steven Ngo, Ted Fry, Korbett O'Banion, Amogh Sehgal, and James Walts, seniors Austin Ott, Myla Townsend, Catherine Morton, and juniors Abishek Sehgal and Elijah Beal.

Oddiraju also finished his term as Region 3 Representative and National Secretary/Treasurer.

It's the MHS Mu Alpha Theta National Mathematics Honor Society's third year competing at the national convention. For a look back at last year's competition, click here.