School News

News for Marion High School

Two MHS seniors named National Merit Scholarship semifinalists

Posted: by Patricia Gibson, Communications Director
News Blog Category - News Two Marion High School students have been named National Merit Scholarship semifinalists, a prestigious designation earned only by about 1 percent of the 1.5 million students who apply each year.

The Marion Community Schools Board of School Trustees honored National Merit Scholarship semifinalists Anne Marie Conrad and Micah Hoeksema at their meeting on Sept. 14, 2016. Also pictured are MCS Superintendent Brad Lindsay, School Board President Aaron Vermilion, and Board members Pam Hutchison, Scott Murphy, Chuck Griffin, and Katie Morgan, and Marion High School Principal Keith Burke.

Juniors across the U.S. apply for the National Merit Scholarship program by taking the PSAT as juniors. Anne Marie Conrad and Micah Hoeksema, seniors at MHS who have earned the semifinalist designation, now have the opportunity to apply to be named National Merit Scholarship finalists (a designation earned by only 15,000 students nationwide), which would put them in line for potential college scholarships sponsored by corporations and colleges across the country. The two will find out in the spring if they've advanced to the finalist round.

They join a select group at MHS. The Class of 2015 featured two National Merit Scholarship semifinalists, Noah Todd and Alyssa Ngo, who went on to win another prestigious award, the Lilly Endowment Scholarship. The MHS Class of 2014 included one National Merit Scholarship finalist, Vinnai Oddiraju.

We congratulate Anne Marie and Micah and wish them continued success in the highly competitive National Merit Scholarship process!